#BookReview By Lou – Mummy’s Little Secret By M.A. Hunter @Writer_MAHunter @0neMoreChapter_ @HarperCollinsUK #MummysLittleSecret #Thriller #PsychologicalThriller

Mummy’s Little Secret
By M.A. Hunter 

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Mummy’s Little Secret is a gripping thriller. Discover more in the blurb and my review below. Thanks to One More Chapter – Harper Collins for gifting me a copy of the book for review purposes.

Mummy's LIttle Secret

Blurb

Four little words can ruin a life.

When Jess meets five-year-old Daisy and her mum, Morag, in a local London park, they seem a perfectly happy and loving pair. Until Daisy whispers four little words that send ice seeping down Jess’s spine…

She’s not my mum.

Determined to save Daisy, Jess becomes obsessed with unearthing Morag’s secrets. As she digs ever deeper, her friends and family start to question her own increasingly paranoid behaviour…

Four little words can end a life.

But Jess knows what she heard and she’s certain the fear in Daisy’s eyes was real. Of course she isn’t imagining things… Or is she?

Mummy’s Little Secret is a nerve-shredding new psychological thriller from the author of The Missing Children Case Files – perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter and C.L. Taylor.

Review

Mummy’s Little Secret is a page-turning psychological thriller. It has a real spine-chilling quality that may well have you involuntarily taking a sharp intake of breath.

The story goes between reality and delusion and is told between Jess and Morag and throws many twists as you try to work out what is real and what’s not.

Jess is a highly emotional character, plus has depression and is in a wheelchair, but has dug deep to find some determination to discover something within Daisy’s family (which Morag belongs to), that she believes doesn’t ring true with her. Her husband, Charlie thinks she is wrong and her obsession in this has impact. It also creates much mystery.

There is, subsequently, a detective who arrives on the scene, who gives further perspective and insight into what’s really going on and who is telling the truth and who is not as lives are dramatically changed.

The climax is as rivetting as the rest of the book, which is pretty fast-paced once it gets going.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s