The Party House By Lin Anderson @Lin_Anderson @panmacmillan #ThePartyHouse #Thriller #PsychologicalThriller #Author appearing at #BloodyScotland

The Party House
By Lin Anderson

Rating: 5 out of 5.

The Party House is a gripping and atmospheric psychological thriller. It’s a party house you at be glad you’re only observing as it becomes increasingly twisty and tangled up and bound with secrets. It’s a page-turner! 

The Party House by Lin Anderson is a deeply atmospheric psychological thriller set in the Scottish Highlands, for fans of Lucy Foley, Ruth Ware and Sarah Pearses The Sanatorium.

Devastated by a recent pandemic brought in by outsiders, the villagers of Blackrig in the Scottish Highlands are outraged when they find that the nearby estate plans to reopen its luxury ‘party house’ to tourists.

As animosity sparks amongst the locals, part of the property is damaged and, in the ensuing chaos, the body of a young girl is found in the wreck. Seventeen-year-old Ailsa Cummings went missing five years ago, never to be seen again – until now.

The excavation of Ailsa’s remains ignites old suspicions cast on the men of this small community, including Greg, the estate’s gamekeeper. At the beginning of a burgeoning relationship with a new lover, Joanne, Greg is loath to discuss old wounds. Frightened by Greg’s reaction to the missing girl’s discovery, Joanne begins to doubt how well she knows this new man in her life. Then again, he’s not the only one with secrets in their volatile relationship . . .

Review

Lin Anderson has something new to offer, away from her Rhona MacLeod series – an absolutely cracking psychological thriller that gets under your skin.

The Party House takes readers to Blackrig in the Highlands of Scotland, into what seems like normal village life, as also depicted on a map, then into its heart and soul with the residents. What emerges is that readers are cleverly lured into a false sense of security in its familiar scenic cosyness.
Blackrig, when delved into deeper, is brimming with a dark atmosphere that is quietly sinister, which then, in turn, becomes an involving read.

Alisa disappeared 5 years ago, this is where the book begins. The chapters then go between Greg, head ghillie and Joanne and how the estate and traditions such as The Highland Games was affected by lockdown and about how to get events back up and running again after lockdown. There is disquiet amongst the locals about anything that meant tourists return and especially displeasure about the opening of The Party House. 

There are many aspects of the lockdown period that readers will relate to and then the book gets really twisty and dark, when a hot tub is smashed and there is a death at The Party House. So much intrigue is built up about the secrets that people are trying to keep hidden. It is then up to PC Harry McGowan and his team to solve the case and to discover the truth of what is really happening within Blackrig. Almost everyone is suspicious and hiding something and as it develops, it does, in part, become quite chilling.

The Party House may initially seem a romantic idyll, but as it quickly becomes an increasingly suspenseful and psychological thriller. It is a page-turner!

Advertisement

One thought on “The Party House By Lin Anderson @Lin_Anderson @panmacmillan #ThePartyHouse #Thriller #PsychologicalThriller #Author appearing at #BloodyScotland

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s