#BookReview By Lou of Kerry Tucker Learns To Live By Louise Voss @LouiseVoss1 @bookouture you @sarahhardy681 #BlogTour #KerryTuckerLearnsToLive

Kerry Tucker Learns To Live 
By Louise Voss

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Kerry Tucker is an engaging book. Find out more in the blurb and my review below. Thanks, first to Bookouture and Sarah Hardy for inviting me to review as part of the blog tour.

Blurb

Sometimes you have to reach the end of the road before you can start over.

Kerry is perfectly happy with her life. She gets up at the same time every day to deliver post to the winding lanes and little villages around where she lives, stopping for a chat at some of the houses along the way. Once a month she has Sunday lunch with her sister Beth’s perfect family, to eat roast chicken while Beth tells her why she should want more out of life.

Beth thinks Kerry is kidding herself. She thinks Kerry needs to move out of the horrible little apartment converted from the garage in their parents’ garden, find a better job, and maybe even meet a man. And now their parents’ house is up for sale, Beth is going to make sure Kerry gets a life… whether Kerry likes it or not.

Kerry knows something Beth doesn’t, though. She knows the happiest of marriages can hide dark secrets, and that even the people you love most in the world can betray you. She’s known that since she was seventeen years old, when she learned her father’s secret.

It’s far safer not to get close to people…

Isn’t it?

A brilliantly emotional novel about moving on and learning to live that will make you laugh out loud and cry buckets. Perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine, Matt Haig and Mike Gayle.

Review

Kerry is a postwoman in her 40s. She spends some of her spare time having lunches with her sister, Beth. The story goes between 1993 and present day and it turns out Kerry knows a secret about Beth’s dad for many years.

The book is quite moving as the sisters are mourning the recent death of their mum. Kerry has plans to move into the family home, whilst Beth does not and has plans of her own. Whilst she tries to work things out and forget things in her past and hoping for something positive to happen, her life begins to fall apart and she seeks solace in glasses of wine.

Delving into Kerry’s work, there is insight into being a village postal worker and she tries to help people within the community as she can.  Beth on the other hand thinks Kerry needs to find a different job and a man.

So at times the book can delve into dark emotions and past secrets and at other times it becomes warm and uplifting. Overall it’s an engaging book.

About the Author 

 
 
Over her twenty-year writing career, Louise Voss has published books via pretty much every publishing model there is, from deals with major traditional publishing houses (Transworld and HarperCollins), to digital (Thomas & Mercer and Bookouture) and self-publishing. In 2011, she and co-author Mark Edwards were the first UK indie-published authors to hit the No.1 spot on Amazon UK. Louise has written thirteen novels in total, seven solo and six co-written, across psychological thrillers, police procedurals and contemporary fiction. 

 
8A56840F-B099-48B9-B5DF-FD820C8FDC5D
Advertisement

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s